Suffizient und Schön

The former Prussian mansion of Neuroofen lies relatively deep in the forest close to formerly clear Lake Stechlin, 80km north of Berlin. We want to open up the house, and artistically develop the place regarding its social and ecological sustainability.

It is an inclusive space devoted to people who meddle, to whom debate and discovery are not enough. Those who intervene and act, who bring new ideas and ideals into the world and try them out.

We are convinced of the power of artistic thinking and social commitment. To think outside the box and question supposedly unshakeable matters are a necessity and resource for positive social change.

The Stechlin-Institut is an artistic response to life in eco-sufficiency, with solidarity and co-operation, knowledge transfer, and stubborn problem solving.


Concept

The Stechlin-Institut is a resonance chamber for informed and enlightened people who are conscious of the political, social, and ecological transformations of society to come. For those who stand up and confront the resistance of revisionary forces, not only with a new awareness for all things alive, but also try to artistically create eco-sufficient and resilient environments.

Not only do cities like Berlin diffusing into the rural sphere enrich the countryside by new mobility and new work concepts, but they also present a new hybrid reality of life. We want to enrich the freedom of this new kind of space with knowledge and test to what extent sustainable sufficient life is possible beyond urban centres.


Art

Socially engaged art

There has been a history of roughly 100 years to socially engaged art. Artistic practice in this field understands itself beyond the symbolic as a tool of immediate social transformation. Today, a growing number of artists are beginning to consciously return to the social. The Stechlin-Institut sees itself as an actor in the field of socially engaged art. It wants to activate the social potential of artistic thinking and expand the scope of artistic action.

Art at the Stechlin-Institut

Like Cornelius Castoriadis, we are convinced of the creative imagination of humans as the inexhaustible “source and origin of otherness and perpetual self-alteration of a society.” And this, in fact, does not only concern artists. Artistic or oblique thinking is an emancipatory process. Bernhard Waldenfels attributes a special ability to artists, being able to stand ambiguity. One could say it like this: Artists make visible what is invisible. They don’t change that which is disturbing – they create another perspective on it altogether. Art is a discipline, a process which renders deviation, the surprising, and the superfluous visible in order to break routine experience and perception.
Also the temporary retreat to rural surroundings is a strategy from the context of art, aiming at overviewing and clarifying. That teams of non-profit organizations and artists are living together first of all means a confrontation with a strange, or at least different, life plan. It should be mentioned, though, that artists are confronted with the same insecurity of the situation. When these actors are in encounter, it is therefore at eye level, and everybody involved can find the potential of reflecting their own situation.

 


Place

An indefinite place, a house full of perspectives, where socially engaged people can find the resonance chamber to exchange, reflect, and develop further in the serenity of nature. The Stechlin-Institut enables experiences in which curiosity, eco-sufficiency and society converge, in order to encourage participation/dedication with diverse perspectives. We are convinced of the power of artistic thinking and sustainable social commitment.

Retreating and opening up are made possible through this place – the community offers motivation and perspective.

House

It is an old house staying cool even in hot weather. Every one of its three floors is about 200 squaremeters. At the moment, we are using two of these floors for living. There are enough beds for 15 people. The main floor can be heated, the top floor under the roof (mainly for sleeping) is not insulated yet.
Our wifi connects via broadband, but mobile reception in this area is rather low.
The house is not barrier-free yet.

Rooms

Most rooms are spacious and open – this means, there are no single or double rooms. The dining table fits everyone easily, the fireside room overflows with couches, and tiled fireplaces serve to make the main floor very cozy. There are two showers, three toilets, 15 beds, two fridges and three kitchen sinks. You can move your beds freely around the house.

Surroundings

Around the house lies a huge field of grass with fruit trees giving shade in the summer. Big Lake Stechlin is located perhaps three kilometers through the forest. Lake Roofen in the other direction is also nice for swimming and taking long walks.
There are local producers all around. The Faradgang fixed a bunch of bikes for the Institut which you can use to explore the area and go on food hunts. To the eco farmer, fisherman, forester, supermarkets, bakers, or bee-keepers…

History

The manor of Neu-Roofen was founded by a Prussian family in 1872 who wanted to use their land for agriculture. As a sandy glacial frontal plain, the ground didn’t yield well, so they sold their fields one after the other, and at one point also swapped their house with the forestry department. In the meantime, Neuroofen grew into a small hamlet in the middle of a forest where foresters and lumberjacks were trained. Under the National Socialists, the house was extended, and for a few days in 1945, the Oberkommando der Wehrmacht was based here. After the war, the house served as a refugee home before the forestry department returned in the GDR. Some time in between then and now, it also was a summer camp for children, a shop, and a youth club. These different usages and many inhabitants have all left their traces. After this changeful history, the foundation Stiftung Edith Maryon bought the house for the Stechlin-Institut in 2014. When we moved in, we first stripped the house down to its oldest walls. A barrier-free renovation is planned for the coming years.

Suffizient und Schön

Verhältnismäßig tief im Wald und nahe des, vormals klaren Stechlinsees, 80km nördlich von Berlin, steht das ehemalige Gutshaus Neuroofen. Das Haus wollen wir öffnen, den Ort künstlerisch nachhaltig, sozial und ökologisch entwickeln.

Ein inklusiver Ort, den Menschen gewidmet, die sich einmischen, denen Debatte und Erkenntnis nicht genug sind. Die eingreifen und handeln, die neue Ideen und Ideale in die Welt bringen und erproben

Wir sind überzeugt von der Kraft künstlerischen Denkens und sozialen Engagements. Quer zu denken und vermeintlich Unverrückbares in Frage zu stellen sind eine Notwendigkeit und Ressource zur positiven gesellschaftlichen Veränderung.

Das SI ist künstlerische Antwort auf suffizientes Leben, solidarische Kooperation, Wissenstransfer und hartnäckige Problemlösung.


Konzept

Das SI ist Resonanzraum für informierte und aufgeklärte Menschen, die sich der anstehenden gesellschaftlichen, also politischen, sozialen, ökologischen Veränderung bewusst sind, aufstehen und dem Widerstand revisionistischer Kräfte, nicht nur ein neues Bewusstsein für das Lebendige entgegen setzen, sondern versuchen künstlerisch ökologisch-resiliente und suffiziente Lebensräume zu schaffen. 

Städte wie Berlin, die in den ländlichen Raum diffundieren, bereichern diesen nicht nur um neue Mobilitäts- und Arbeitskonzepte, sondern eröffnen eine hybride Lebenswirklichkeit. Wir wollen diesen Freiraum mit Wissen anreichern und erproben inwieweit nachhaltig suffizientes Leben ausserhalb urbaner Zentren möglich ist. 


Kunst

Sozial engagierte Kunst

Sozial engagierter Kunst liegt eine etwa hundertjährige Geschichte zugrunde. Künstlerische Praxis begreift sich dabei über den symbolischen Sinn hinaus als Werkzeug unmittelbaren sozialen Wandels. Heute beginnt sich eine wachsende Zahl von Künstler*innen wieder sehr bewusst und aktiv in soziale Felder zu begeben. Das Stechlin-Institut versteht sich als Akteur im Feld sozial engagierter Kunst. Es will das Potenzial künstlerischen Denkens gesellschaftlich wirksam machen und die Handlungsspielräume der Kunst erweitern.

Kunst am Stechlin-Institut

Wie Cornelius Castoriadis sind wir überzeugt von der “schöpferischen Einbildungskraft des Menschen als unerschöpfliche Quelle von Neuem und nie erlahmende Triebkraft der Selbstveränderung einer Gesellschaft.” Und das betrifft nicht nur Künstler*innen.

Künstlerisches Denken ist ein emanzipatorischer Prozess. Bernhard Waldenfels schreibt Künstler*innen eine besondere Fähigkeit zu, die darin besteht, Ambiguität auszuhalten. Er sagt sinngemäß: Künstler*innen machen sichtbar, was unsichtbar ist. Sie verändern nicht, was störend ist – sie produzieren eine andere Perspektive darauf. Die Kunst ist eine Disziplin, ein Verfahren, das Abweichung, Überraschendes, Überflüssiges sichtbar macht, um den Gang der normalen Erfahrung und Wahrnehmung zu durchbrechen.

Auch der temporäre Rückzug in ein “ländliches” Umfeld ist eine Strategie aus dem Kontext der Kunst mit dem Ziel der Übersicht, der Klärung. Das Zusammenleben der Teams von Non-Profit-Organisationen mit Künstler*innen bedeutet in erster Linie Auseinandersetzung mit einem vorerst fremden, zumindest anderen Lebensentwurf. Es sollte aber auch erwähnt werden, dass die Künstler*innen mit der gleichen Unsicherheit der Situation konfrontiert sind. Die Begegnung der Akteure findet demgemäß auf Augenhöhe statt und bietet allen das Potential, die eigene Situation zu reflektieren.


Ort

Ein unbestimmter Ort, ein Haus voller Perspektiven, um sozial engagierten Menschen Resonanzraum zum Austausch, zur Reflektion und WeiterEntwicklung in der Gelassenheit der Natur zu geben. Das Stechlin-Institut ermöglicht Erfahrungen an der Schnittstelle von Neugier, Suffizienz und Gesellschaft, um durch ungewohnte andere Perspektiven, Teilhabe/Hingabe zu befördern. Wir sind überzeugt von der Kraft künstlerischen Denkens und nachhaltigen Engagements.

Der Ort ermöglicht Rückzug und Öffnung – die Gemeinschaft bietet Motivation und Perspektive.

Das Haus

Es ist ein altes Haus, das auch bei heißem Wetter kühl bleibt. Es hat pro Etage eine Fläche von rund 200 Quadratmetern. Momentan werden zwei Etagen zum Wohnen/Leben genutzt. Es gibt Betten für 15 Leute. Die Hauptetage kann beheizt werden, der Dachboden (hauptsächlich Schlafraum) ist noch ungedämmt.
Das Wifi ist ein Breitbandanschluss, mobiler Datenempfang ist allerdings eher mau. Noch ist das Haus nicht barrierefrei.

 

Die Räume

Die meisten Räume sind groß und offen – Einzel- oder Doppelzimmer gibt es nicht. An den Esstisch passen alle dran, das Kaminzimmer hat ein paar bequeme Sofas und gemütliche Stimmung machen die Kachelöfen. Es gibt zwei Duschen, drei Toiletten, 15 Betten, zwei Kühlschränke und drei Spülen. Zum Schlafen könnt Ihr Euch frei über das Haus verteilen.

Umgebung

Um das Haus liegt eine riesige Obstwiese und alte Bäume spenden Schatten. Der Große Stechlinsee liegt ungefähr drei Kilometer durch den Wald. Auch der Roofensee in die andere Richtung ist zum Schwimmen und Spazieren klasse.
Überall in der Umgebung gibt es lokale Erzeuger. Die Faradgang hat für das Institut einen Haufen Fahrräder wieder flott gemacht, mit denen man auf Erkundungstouren gehen kann. Zum Biobauern, Fischer, Förster, Ziegenhof, Supermarkt, Bäcker oder Imker…

Geschichte

Das Gut Neu-Roofen wurde 1872 von einer preußischen Familie gegründet, die ihre Ländereien hier zur Landwirtschaft verwenden wollte. Weil der Sanderboden kaum Erträge brachte, verkaufte man Stück für Stück alle Äcker und tauschte irgendwann auch das Haus mit der Forst. In der Zwischenzeit wuchs Neuroofen zu einem kleinen Ort mitten im Wald, an dem Waldarbeiter und Förster ausgebildet wurden. Unter den Nationalsozialisten wurde das Haus erweitert und wurde dann für einige Tage 1945 zum Sitz des Oberkommandos der Wehrmacht. Nach dem Krieg fungierte das Haus als Flüchtlingslager, bevor die Forst in der DDR wieder den Betrieb aufnahm. Zwischenzeitlich war es auch mal Sommerferiencamp für Kinder, Kaufhalle und Jugendclub. Die unterschiedlichen Nutzungen und vielen BewohnerInnen haben alle ihre Spuren eingeschrieben. Nach dieser wechselvollen Geschichte hat die Stiftung Edith Maryon 2014 das Haus für das Stechlin-Institut erworben. Als das Stechlin-Institut einzog, wurde es erst mal bis auf die alten Wände entkernt. Barrierefreier Umbau und Renovierung sind für die nächsten Jahre geplant.